MDTSEA AWARD NOMINATION FORM



The Michigan Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (MDTSEA) provides up to seven (7) different awards annually at its Annual Business Meeting and Conference. We are encouraging you to consider nominating someone you believe deserves and qualifies for one of the following awards.

- 1. **The Silvernale Award**: The purpose of this award is to recognize persons throughout the country who have made outstanding contributions to traffic safety education. <u>CRITERIA</u>: Individuals can be nominated on a national basis, and their contribution can be for traffic safety education, in general, and need not be specifically for driver education.
- 2. **The A.A. Vezanni Memorial Award**: The purpose of this award is to recognize annually persons in the state of Michigan who have made an outstanding contribution to driver education. <u>CRITERIA</u>: The nominee must be an active Michigan driver education instructor.
- 3. The David Van Dyke Distinguished Achievement Award: The purpose of this award is to recognize any individual who has made a significant and identifiable contribution to Michigan's driver education program during the preceding year. <u>CRITERIA</u>: Must be a significant, identifiable contribution to Michigan's driver education program; and must be a significant contribution during the preceding year beyond normal job expectations.
- 4. **The Dr. Robert E. Gustafson Award:** The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual who has demonstrated long-term commitment and dedication to the field of driver education and traffic safety. <u>CRITERIA</u>: Must have been involved in traffic safety and/or driver education for more than 25 years; and must have made recognizable contributions to the fields throughout their years of service.
- 5. **The Honorary Membership Award:** The purpose of this award is to honor individuals who have been involved and made contributions to driver education over many years. <u>CRITERIA</u>: Individual should be or should have been a member of MDTSEA.
- 6. **The New Driver Educator of the Year Award:** The purpose of this award is to honor an individual who is relatively new in the field and has demonstrated the capacity to advance and make significant contributions to traffic safety education in the future. <u>CRITERIA</u>: The nominee must be relatively new in the field of driver education (approximately within the first two years).
- 7. **The MDTSEA District Representative of the Year Award:** The purpose this award is to recognize the district representative who made the most significant contribution to the Association during the preceding year. <u>CRITERIA</u>: The candidate must have been a district representative during the preceding year.

On the following page, simply mark the box that corresponds with the appropriate award nomination, and complete and return the form to MDTSEA at the email address provided.

Michigan Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association

MDTSEA AWARD NOMINATION FORM

Complete, scan, and send this form to: info@mdtsea.org

Please mark the box corresponding to the appropriate award: □ Silvernale Award □ A.A. Vezanni Award □ David Van Dyke Distinguished Achievement Award □ Dr. Robert E. Gustafson Award □ Honorary Membership Award □ New Driver Educator of the Year Award ☐ MDTSEA District Representative of the Year Award Name of Person Being Nominated: Organization (or retired): Mailing address: Email: Telephone: Nominated by: Phone or email: Please explain below why you believe this person <u>deserves</u> and <u>qualifies</u> for the award: