David VanDyke Distinguished Achievement Award Winners

"Fire up!"

1978

Rep. Ernest Nash, Michigan House of Representatives

Dr. Donald L. Smith, Highway Traffic Safety Center, Michigan State University

Mr. Donald Henson, Ann Arbor Huron High School

Dr. Donald Heulke, Highway Safety Research Institute, Univ. of Michigan

Michigan Auto Dealers Association

1979

Mr. Thomas Wetzel, Michigan Association of Insurance Companies Michigan Association of Insurance Companies

1980

Dr. Robert. E. Gustafson, Highway Traffic Safety Center, Mich. State Univ.

Mr. Donald Henson, Ann Arbor Huron High School

Mr. Thomas McDole, Highway Safety Research Institute, Univ. of Michigan

1981

Rep. Lucille McCollough, Michigan House of Representatives

Sen. Gary Corbin, Michigan Senate

Mr. Robert Alexander, Assistant to Senator Edward Pierce

Michigan Women for Highway Safety

Michigan Association for Traffic Safety

1982

Mr. Philip Haseltine, Director, Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning

Mr. Dave Kilgren, Michigan Department of State

Ms. Sondra Locke, General Motors Corporation

Sqt. Jack Ware, Michigan State Police

Mr. Don Sharp

1983

Rep. David Hollister, Michigan House of Representatives

Sen. Philip Monsma, Michigan Senate

Ms. Virginia Anderson, General Motors Corporation (Chevrolet Digest)

1984

Capt. Lawrence Miller, Michigan State Police

Mr. John Trellay, Auto Club of Michigan

1985

Mr. Thomas Hampton, Michigan Department of Education

Ms. Sue Howell, Michigan Department of Education

1986

Mr. Howard Cox, Traffic Safety Association of Michigan General Motors Corporation

1987

```
1988
```

1989

Mr. Donald Henson, Ann Arbor Huron High School

Dr. Donald Heulke, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute

Ms. Cherry Jacobus, President, Michigan State Board of Education

1990

1991

Dr. Aaron Sinkoff, Detroit Public Schools

1992

Mr. Allen Bard, Michigan Department of State

Ms. Lisa Scott, Jackson Intermediate School District

1993

Ms. Laura Taylor, Highway Traffic Safety Programs, Michigan State University

1994

Dr. Robert E. Gustafson, Highway Traffic Safety Programs, Mich. State Univ.

Mr. Dale Ackley

1995

1996

Michigan Truck Safety Commission

1997

Ms. Robin Bordner, White Pigeon Public Schools

1998

Rep. Daniel Gustafson, Michigan House of Representatives

1999

Mr. Greg Lantzy, MDTSEA Secretariat

2000

Dr. Elaine Charney, Michigan Department of Education

2001

Senator William Bullard, Jr.

Ms. Norene Lind, Traffic Safety Association of Michigan

2002

Tina Hissong, Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning

2003

2004

Representative Edward Gaffney, Michigan House of Representatives

2005

2006 Sgt. Lance Cook, Michigan State Police
2007 Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land and the Driver Education Advisory Committee
2008 Robin Bordner, Traffic Safety Center of Southwest Michigan
2009
2010
2011 Sgt. Lance Cook, Michigan State Police
2012
2013 Roger Relich, Century Driving School
2014 Greg Lantzy, MI Department of State
2015 Terrence Jungel, Executive Director, Michigan Sheriff's Association
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020