Honorary Membership Award Winners

```
1962
Mr. Lawton Smith, Portage High School (Past President 1956-57)
Mr. Casey Voorhees (Past President 1957-58)
Mr. Ed Jahns, Saginaw Arthur Hill High School (Past President 1958-59)
Mr. Homer Earl (Past President 1959-60)
Mr. Kenneth Light, Bay City Public Schools (Past President 1960-61)
1963
Mr. Robert Gutshall, Lansing Public Schools (Past President 1962)
Mr. Howard Bale, Big Rapids High School (Past President 1963)
1965
Mr. James Sendo, Grosse Pointe High School (Past President 1964)
1966
1967
Mr. Alvin Peterson (Past President 1965, 1966)
Mr. Leslie Silvernale, Hwy Traf. Saf. Ctr, MSU (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1968
Mr. Dale France, Lansing Sexton High School (Past President 1967-68, 1968-69)
1970
Mr. Gene Denney, Beecher High School, Flint (Past President 1969-70)
1971
Mr. Malcolm Whale, Mich. Depart. of Education (Retirement-Service & dedication)
Mr. John Richardson, Crystal Falls Public Schools (Retirement-Service & dedication)
1972
Mr. Martin Dolan, E. Lansing High School (Past President 1970-71, 1971-72)
Dr. William Covert, Highway Traffic Safety Center, MSU (Service & dedication)
1973
Mr. Tod Osborne, Benton Harbor High School (Past President 1972-73, 1973-74)
1975
Mr. Sheridan Rhoads, Office of Highway Safety Planning (Past President 1974-75)
1976
```

1977

- Mr. Ray Curran, Hudson High School (Past President 1975-76, 1976-77)
- Mr. Gordon Sheehe, Hwy Traf. Saf. Ctr, MSU (Retirement-Service & dedication)
- Dr. William Mann, College of Education, MSU (Retirement-Service & dedication)

1978

- Mr. Richard Evans, Flint Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Donald Bray, Royal Oak Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. John Burg, Oakland Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Romuald Martin, Davison (Retirement-Service and dedication)

1979

- Mr. Larry Thompson, Sand Creek Public Schools (Past President 1977-78, 1978-79)
- Mr. Fred Service, Grand Rapids Public Schools (Retirement-Service & dedication)
- Mr. Lawrence Sain, Northern Michigan Univ. (Retirement-Service & dedication)
- Dr. K. Wahtera, Northern Michigan University (Retirement-Service & dedication)

1980

Mr. Bruce Cline, Michigan Depart. of Management & Budget (Past President 1979-80)

1981

- Mr. Donald Henson, Ann Arbor Huron High School (Past President 1980-81)
- Mr. Donald Bursma, St. Joseph Public Schools (Retirement-Service & dedication)

1982

- Mr. William Porter, Jr., Grand Rapids Public Schools (Past President 1981-82)
- Mr. B.J. Joseph, Adrian Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)

1983

Mr. Paul Hewitt, Davison Community Schools (Past President 1982-83)

1984

- Mr. Don Jaeger, Saline High School (Past President 1983-84)
- Mr. Rollo Laughlin, Detroit Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Dr. Aaron Sinkoff, Detroit Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Richard Deemer (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Arthur Gibson (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Dr. Robert O. Nolan (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Hank Hoberg, Scheib Industries (Retirement-Service and dedication)

1985

- Mr. Donald Callis, Flint Northwestern High School (Past President 1984-85)
- Mr. Edwin Videan, Grand Rapids Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)

1986

Mr. Howard Hale, Bedford High School (Past President 1985-86)

1987

- Mr. Robert Bannon, Benton Harbor High School (Past President 1986-87)
- Mr. William Williams (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. Rudolph Mosca (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Mr. LeRoy Durfee (Retirement-Service and dedication)
- Ms. Alta Garrelts (Retirement-Service and dedication)

```
1988
Mr. John Stimac, Paw Paw Public Schools (Past President 1987-88)
Mr. Dean Wilson, Pontiac Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Mr. Ralph Huss, Okemos Public Schools (Past President 1988-89)
Mr. Fred Clark, Delton (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Dr. Philip O'Leary, Mich. Depart. of Education (Retirement-Service & dedication)
1990
Mr. Roger Voss, Rogers City Public Schools (Past President 1989-90)
Mr. Charles Delaney, Warren (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Mr. Virgil Wiese, Bay City Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1991
Mr. Dale Litten, Right-Way Driving School (Past President 1990-91)
1992
Ms. Robin Bordner, White Pigeon Public Schools (Past President 1991-92)
Mr. Ron Oswald, Warren (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Mr. John Donaldson, Detroit Public Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1993
Mr. Vahan Janoyan, Roseville High School (Past President 1992-93)
Dr. Leon Neeb, Eastern Michigan University (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1994
Dr. Robert E. Gustafson, Mich. State Univ. (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Dr. Donald L. Smith, Mich. State Univ. (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1995
Mr. Oscar Mattson, Adrian Public Schools (Past President 1994-95)
Mr. Norm Ullman, Whitehall District Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1996
Mr. Jeff Riffle, Okemos Public Schools (Past President 1995-96)
Mr. Duane Lamiman, Whitehall District Schools (Retirement-Service and dedication)
Mr. Donald Lord, Bridgeport High School (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1997
Mr. Greg Lantzy, Lansing Public Schools (Past President 1996-97)
Dr. Gerald Ockert, Mich. Depart. of Education (Retirement-Service & dedication)
1998
Mr. Jerry Fitzpatrick (Retirement-Service and dedication)
1999
2000
Mr. Dave Fisher, Fruitport High School (Retirement-Service and dedication)
2001
2002
```

Mr. Dennis Whittington, E-Z Way Driver Training, Inc., Horton

```
2003
2004
Tricia Lamiman, Drive Rite Driving School, Reeths-Puffer Schools
2005
Dr. Thomas O. Reel, Traffic Safety Association of Michigan
2006
2007
2008 - John Longstreet, Delton-Kellogg Schools
2009
2010
2011
2012 - Robert Boone, Wayne State University
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017 - Chuck Swearingen, Stroia School of Driving
2018
2019 -
2020 - Roderick Martin, Courtesy Driving School
```